Purveyor of the most complete and bad ass Wild Style known to the whole of Europe, Skore79 has been carefully crafting his artwork for decades - I caught up with him to chat style and how having 3 daughters has changed his approach to painting
@skore79
Introduce yourself and give us a little bit of background as to how you got started
I got started writing graffiti in the early 90s in a small town at the northwestcoast from Germany. Inspired by the movies Beatstreet and Wildstyle , I was tryin to do the same. Breakdancing and writing Graffiti.
My first Name was ROM, then ROB. Quite simple letters with a little Bubbletouch.
95-96 I startet to write Skor, then Skore. I liked the letter "S" on the beginning of the word, because it is wild in the nature and you can combine a lot of other letters to it.
Did you ever have much luck with breakdancing?
No, i was quite funky at the uprockthing, my sixstep was ok, but my powermoves were wack as hell. But I had a fresh Adidas trainer back in da days, lmao
What interests you about graffiti over anything else?
The science of letters. It has no borders. You can add anything you want to it, to bring your letters to life. Meanwhile it is a big part of my life. Graffit helped me, finding some very good friends and crew-member over the years, which I dont wanna miss.
How would you describe your style and approach?
I would describe it as "classic Wildstyle", with some new aspects. I always had a straight focus on to the styles and not to the technique. For me its more important to have a good swing in the letters, as to have very sharp and cutted outlines. Another important thing is to have good and fresh combination in between the letter structure. Trying to stay fresh and original is my motto.
Why does such technical wild style appeal to you over simpler designs?
I don't know exactly. Maybe I´m feeling it more. Maybe to hide my blurry lines, haha. No due to graffiti I´m more the aggresive one. I think with Wildstyle you can give your letters a bad look, you know...something like that.

Everyone is said to have their own arrow and connections, what do you think yours give to your graffiti? as in, how do you use yours?
There are some limitations, you cannot have your own arrows I think. Everything has already been painted, but what you can do is to have a different kind of combination of the letters and elements. You can have a different or own connection in between the letters, which is important to me. The connections need to have sense, without damaging the single letter….what you can also do, is to have your own swing or movement in your letters. I would compare my style with old Kungfu movies, not just that jet li shit…a mix with looney toons, haha.
Yes all of that, lmao! It depends. But mostly I´m trying stay clear in the head and only listening to music, while I´m doing a piece at the wall or on the paper. Generally I´m doing my sketches all at night, while my kids are sleeping.
Any music in particular you listen to when you’re painting?
I like jedimindtricks, vinnie paz, ill bill, prodigy. My favorite tune is still alchemist feat prodigy: albert einstein and MobbDeep’s HellonEarth. Listening to some german mc`s as well, but they're rare.
What are your main influences at this current moment in time? Whether they be from within graffiti or from outside.
I can say my current influences are coming from my both crews SBB&ABS. There are People like Phet, Dejoe, Sbeck, Pork. Which are in my eyes stylemasters in many levels. And the list goes on and on. I love also the styles from KidKaro(Spade)TPM,SureTPM Keep6 from Canada, Ores from Italy and many more. But my original influences are of course the old New York Style & Berlin in late 80´s till mid90´s.
With you having such a classic and bold Wildstyle look, do you have any opinions on what people call the other side of graffiti, the 'anti-style'? People like PAL crew from Paris, Germes Gang from Portugal etc - where the expression is more important than the letters or tradition itself.
Never heard of them, you mean this standard Cap, dirty Blade copies? Don't know what to say about that. I mean you have such great tools today like different spray can companies, different caps, cheap ground colours etc and all that they (can) produce is this whack letter-structure. Not worth a look in my opinion. But live and let live, I say.
How have you found balancing being a graffiti artist and a parent? The two can seem very incompatible. Im not that every-day-painter. It is enough for me to have12-15 pieces a year, which leaves a lot time for my girls. When I have to decide, to paint a wall or my girls, I would definately choose my girls.
Could you sum graffiti in 3 words ?
Funk, swing, style
Shout out to my SuperBadBoys, To my ABScrew, Uts . My man Dosar, Fakt47,Suck, Bers, Rafe, Ples Phon, Dragan, Marko, Zeljko, Assir, BjörnUlli, the MFR crew, Hek, Pock, Done, Spade, Keep6, Ores, Stan brate, Sure, York, East, Causeturk, Worm kardes, Leon,KevinAstek, Krome-magazine, Eddy Dibz, Stem ynn, JLo ynn, RageFua and all the others. PEACE! Ephiq, Shuen, Kine, Wuper,GraffFunk, Knut, Ast, Lens, Toe, Irie.
THANK YOU!



No comments:
Post a Comment